A Quote on Thursday: 1950’s Part II

Welcome to Part Two of my collection of quotes from films created in the 1950’s. Some cracking ones and some classic films … can you remember these:

Marty (1955)Scene from Marty

Marty (1955):

“All right, so I’ll go to the Stardust Ballroom. I’ll put on a blue suit, and I’ll go. And you know what I’m gonna get for my trouble? Heartache. A big night of heartache.”

Mister RobertsScene from Mister Roberts

Mister Roberts (1955):

“Captain, it is I, Ensign Pulver, and I just threw your stinking palm tree overboard. Now, what’s all this crud about no movie tonight!”

James Dean, "Rebel Without a Cause",...

James Dean, “Rebel Without a Cause”, 1955 (Photo credit: thefoxling)

Rebel Without a Cause (1955):

“You’re tearing me apart! You, you say one thing, he says another, and everybody changes back again!”

Marilyn Monroe's skirt blows upwards in the 19...

Marilyn Monroe’s skirt blows upwards in the 1955 film The Seven Year Itch directed by Billy Wilder. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 The Seven Year Itch (1955):

“It’s just my imagination. Some people have flat feet. Some people have dandruff. I have this appalling imagination…”

To Catch a Thief (1955) features Hitchcock on ...

To Catch a Thief (1955) features Hitchcock on a bus alongside Cary Grant. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

To Catch a Thief (1955):

“You want a leg or a breast?”

English: Screenshot from the trailer of Invasi...

English: Screenshot from the trailer of Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956). Film trailers from before 1964 are in the public domain. Source: http://www.tcm.com/mediaroom/index.jsp?cid=87210. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956):

“Look, you fools. You’re in danger. Can’t you see? They’re after you. They’re after all of us. Our wives, our children, everyone. They’re here already. You’re next!”

Cover of "The King and I (50th Anniversar...

Cover via Amazon

The King and I (1956):

 “When I shall sit, you shall sit. When I shall kneel, you shall kneel. Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.”

Screenshot from the film The Searchers directe...

Screenshot from the film The Searchers directed by John Ford. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Searchers (1956):

“Let’s go home, Debbie.”

Cropped screenshot of Edward G. Robinson from ...

Cropped screenshot of Edward G. Robinson from the trailer for the film The Ten Commandments. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Ten Commandments (1956):

“So let it be written, so let it be done.”

Cover of "The Bridge on the River Kwai"

Cover of The Bridge on the River Kwai

The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957):

But don’t you see. It’s a matter of principle. If we give in now, there’ll be no end to it. No…I’m adamant. I will not have an officer from my battalion working as a coolie!”

The Incredible Shrinking ManScene from The Incredible Shrinking Man

The Incredible Shrinking Man (1957):

“That’s silly, honey. People just don’t get smaller.”

Tony Curtis as Sidney Falco and Burt Lancaster...

Tony Curtis as Sidney Falco and Burt Lancaster as J. J. Hunsecker (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sweet Smell of Success  (1957):

“I’d hate to take a bite out of you. You’re a cookie full of arsenic.”

Cropped screenshot of Tyrone Power from the tr...

Cropped screenshot of Tyrone Power from the trailer for the film Witness for the Prosecution (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Witness For the Prosecution (1957):

“Killed him? She executed him.”

Cover of "Vertigo (Collector's Edition)"

Cover of Vertigo (Collector’s Edition)

Vertigo (1958):

“Well, I’ll wear the darn clothes if you want me to – if-if you’ll just, just like me.”

Cropped screenshot of Charlton Heston from the...

Cropped screenshot of Charlton Heston from the trailer for the film Ben Hur (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ben-Hur (1959):

“Your eyes are full of hate, Forty-One. That’s good. Hate keeps a man alive.”

North By Northwest

North By Northwest (Photo credit: Stewf)

North by Northwest (1959):

“…in the world of advertising, there’s no such thing as a lie. There’s only the expedient exaggeration. You ought to know that.”

Cropped screenshot from the trailer for the fi...

Cropped screenshot from the trailer for the film Rio Bravo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Rio Bravo (1959):

“I guess they’ll let you in the front door from now on.”

Some Like It Hot Scene from Some Like It Hot

Some Like It Hot (1959):

“Look at that! Look how she moves. That’s just like Jell-O on springs. She must have some sort of built-in motors. I tell you, it’s a whole different sex!”

Well that’s my film quotes from this post, but I’ll be back soon with another collection of film quotes – this time from the 1960’s, so watch this space. And that’s a wrap!!!

Posted by Michael ‘Charlie’ McGee

One thought on “A Quote on Thursday: 1950’s Part II

  1. One of my favourite films,in my top 100, which was made in 1955,was based on a Tipperary emigrant to America who served in Westpoint,a very moving film .The film was called ‘The long gray line’,about the life of Marty Maher,look it up Charlie,the man helped create some of America’s greatest leaders,that’s all i’ll say.

Leave a Reply

