A Quote on Thursday: 1950s Part 1

Welcome back to “A Quote on Thursday”, our weekly look at quotes connected in some way to the world of film. After finishing the 1940s last week, this week we are going to look at films from the 1950s and again I bet its a case of fondful memories. How many of these films do you remember?

Cropped screenshot of Bette Davis from All Abo...

Cropped screenshot of Bette Davis from All About Eve. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)All About Eve (1950):

All About Eve (1950):
Fasten your seat-belts. It’s going to be a bumpy night.”

 
 

Edmond O'Brien from D.O.A. (1950 movie)

Edmond O’Brien from D.O.A. (1950 movie) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

D.O.A. (1950):
Can I help you?”
“I’d like to see the man in charge.”
In here…”
“I want to report a murder.”
Sit down. Where was this murder committed?”
“San Francisco, last night.”
Who was murdered?”
“I was.”

 
 

Screenshot taken by me (Icea) from the trailer...

Screenshot taken by me (Icea) from the trailer to the movie Sunset Blvd. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sunset Boulevard (1950):
You know, this floor used to be wood, but I had it changed. Valentino said, ‘there’s nothing like tile for a tango.'”

 
 

Screenshot of Humphrey Bogart from the trailer...

Screenshot of Humphrey Bogart from the trailer for the film The African Queen. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The African Queen (1951):
If there’s anything in the world I hate, it’s leeches – filthy little devils!”

 
 

An American in Paris (1951)

An American in Paris (1951) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

An American in Paris (1951):
That’s, uh, quite a dress you almost have on…What holds it up?”

 
 

English: Montgomery Clift from premiere video ...

English: Montgomery Clift from premiere video of A Place in the Sun (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A Place in the Sun (1951):
I love you. I’ve loved you since the first moment I saw you. I guess maybe I’ve even loved you before I saw you.

 
 

Portrait of Marlon Brando, "Streetcar Nam...

Portrait of Marlon Brando, “Streetcar Named Desire” 1 photographic print : gelatin silver. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A Streetcar Named Desire (1951):
“Hey Stell – Lahhhhh! Hey, Stell – Lahhhh!”

 
 

Cropped screenshot of Gary Cooper from the tra...

Cropped screenshot of Gary Cooper from the trailer for the film High Noon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

High Noon (1952):
It’s no good. I’ve got to go back, Amy…They’re making me run. I’ve never run from anybody before.”

 
 

The Quiet Man (1952)The Quiet Man (1952)

The Quiet Man (1952):
No patty fingers, if you please. The proprieties at all times. Hold on to your hats.

 
 

English: Gene Kelly, Debbie Reynolds and Donal...

English: Gene Kelly, Debbie Reynolds and Donald O’Connor in Singin’ in the Rain trailer Français : Gene Kelly, Debbie Reynolds et Donald O’Connor dans le film-annonce de Chantons sous la pluie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Singin’ in the Rain (1952):
You mean it’s gonna say up on the screen that I don’t talk and sing for myself?… But they can’t do that!…They can’t make a fool outta Lina Lamont! They can’t make a laughing stock outta Lina Lamont! What do they think I am, dumb or something? Why I make more money than…than…than Calvin Coolidge! Put together!”

 
 

Cropped screenshot of Burt Lancaster and Debor...

Cropped screenshot of Burt Lancaster and Deborah Kerr from the film From Here to Eternity (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

From Here to Eternity (1953):
I never knew it could be like this. Nobody ever kissed me the way you do. (Nobody?) No, nobody.”

 
 

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, an example of Techni...

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, an example of Technicolor filming in 1950s Hollywood. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (1953):
Song: “A kiss on the hand may be quite continental, but diamonds are a girl’s best friend.”

 
 

how to marry a millionaire - Marilyn Monroe

how to marry a millionaire – Marilyn Monroe (Photo credit: quicheisinsane)

How to Marry a Millionaire (1953):
Look at Roosevelt, look at Churchill, look at old fella what’s his name in The African Queen.”

 
 

Cropped screenshot of Audrey Hepburn and Grego...

Cropped screenshot of Audrey Hepburn and Gregory Peck from the trailer for the film Roman Holiday. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Roman Holiday (1953):
The Mouth of Truth. Legend is that if you’re given to lying, you put your hand in there, it’ll be bitten off.”

 
 

English: A photograph promoting the film The W...

English: A photograph promoting the film The Wild One depicts actor Marlon Brando. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Wild One (1953):
“Hey, Johnny, what are you rebelling against?”
What’ve you got?”

 
 

English: Screenshot of trailer for 1954 film T...

English: Screenshot of trailer for 1954 film The Caine Mutiny (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Caine Mutiny (1954):
Mr. Maryk, you may tell the crew for me there are four ways of doing things on board my ship. The right way, the wrong way, the Navy way, and my way. (If) They do things my way, we’ll get along.

 
 

On the WaterfrontScene from On the Waterfront

On the Waterfront (1954):
Charley, it was you. You remember that night in the Garden you came down to my dressing room and said kid, this ain’t your night. We’re goin’ for the price on Wilson. You remember that? This ain’t your night! My night, I could’ve taken Wilson apart. So what happens? He gets the title shot outdoors in a ballpark, and what do I get? — A one way ticket to Palookaville. You was my brother, Charley, you should’ve looked out for me a little bit. You should’ve taken care of me just a little bit so I wouldn’t have to take them dives for the short end money…”
“I had some bets down for ya, you saw some money.”
“…You don’t understand! I could’ve had class. I could’ve been a contender. I could’ve been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am. Let’s face it. It was you, Charley.”

 
 

White ChristmasScene from White Christmas

White Christmas (1954):
Let’s just say we’re doing it for a pal in the Army.”

 
 

 The Court Jester

The Court Jester (1955):
I’ve got it! I’ve got it! The pellet with the poison’s in the vessel with the pestle. The chalice from the palace has the brew that is true! Right?”
“Right. But there’s been a change. They broke the chalice from the palace!”
They broke the chalice from the palace?”
“And replaced it with a flagon.”
A flagon…?”
“With the figure of a dragon.”
Flagon with a dragon.”
“Right.”
But did you put the pellet with the poison in the vessel with the pestle?”
“No! The pellet with the poison’s in the flagon with the dragon! The vessel with the pestle has the brew that is true!”
The pellet with the poison’s in the flagon with the dragon; the vessel with the pestle has the brew that is true.”
“Just remember that…”

And that’s this week’s “A Quote on Thursday”. So how many of these classics have you watched? Or even more appropriately, how many times have you watched these classics. Well, you’ve a week to consider that, because I’ll be back next week with another collection of classic film quotes from the 1950s. And that’s a Wrap!


Posted by Michael ‘Charlie’ McGee

Leave a Reply

