A Quote on Thursday: 1940 Cinema Part 2

Welcome back to ‘A Quote on Thursday’. This week I’ve a number of quotations taken from films that were released from 1944 to 1949. I’m sure you’ll remember several of these productions, so why not count up how many you remember!

Laura (1944)

Laura (1944) (Photo credit: twm1340)

Laura (1944):

I don’t use a pen. I write with a goose quill dipped in venom.

 

Cropped screenshot of Judy Garland from the tr...

Cropped screenshot of Judy Garland from the trailer for the film Meet Me in St. Louis. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Meet Me In St. Louis (1944):

I can’t believe it. Right here where we live – right here in St. Louis.”

 

To Have and To Have NotTo Have and To Have Not (1944)

To Have and To Have Not (1944):

You know you don’t have to act with me, Steve. You don’t have to say anything, and you don’t have to do anything. Not a thing. Oh, maybe just whistle. You know how to whistle, don’t you, Steve? You just put your lips together – and blow.”


English: Screenshot of Bing Crosby from the fi...

English: Screenshot of Bing Crosby from the film The Bells of St. Mary’s. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Bells of St. Mary’s (1945):

If you ever need anything, no matter what it is or wherever you happen to be – “
Yes, I know. I just dial O for O’Malley.”

 

English: James Cagney & Sylvia Sidney in Blood...

English: James Cagney & Sylvia Sidney in Blood on the Sun – cropped screenshot (original image : see source) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Blood on the Sun (1945):

Sure, forgive your enemies, but first get even.”

 

The Naughty Nineties (1945)The Naughty Nineties (1945)

The Naughty Nineties (1945):

Now on the St. Louis team, we have Who’s on first, What’s on second, I Don’t Know’s on third.”
That’s what I want to find out. I want you to tell me the names of the fellas on the St. Louis team.”
I’m telling ya: Who’s on first, What’s on second, I Don’t Know’s on third…”

 

The Big Sleep (1946)The Big Sleep (1946)

The Big Sleep (1946):

So you’re a private detective. I didn’t know they existed, except in books, or else they were greasy little men snooping around hotel corridors.”

 

Joseph Cotten, Jennifer Jones- ''Duel in the S...

Joseph Cotten, Jennifer Jones- ”Duel in the Sun” 1946 (Photo credit: Movie-Fan)

Duel in the Sun (1946):

You always said you could shoot. I never believed ya.”

 

A distraught George Bailey (James Stewart) ple...

A distraught George Bailey (James Stewart) pleads for help from Mr. Potter. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s a Wonderful Life (1946):

Clarence! Clarence! Help me, Clarence! Get me back! Get me back, I don’t care what happens to me! Get me back to my wife and kids! Help me, Clarence, please! Please! I wanna live again. I wanna live again. I want to live again. Please, God, let me live again.”

 

Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein

Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948):

Allow me to introduce myself. I am the Invisible Man.”

 

  Key Largo (1948)Key Largo (1948)

Key Largo (1948):

One thing I can’t stand, it’s a dame that’s drunk.”

 

Western ~ "Red River", 1948

Western ~ “Red River”, 1948 (Photo credit: e r j k p r u n c z y k)

Red River (1948):

Cherry was right, you’re soft. You should’ve let him kill me, ’cause I’m gonna kill you. I’ll catch up with ya! I don’t know when, but I’ll catch up. Every time you turn around, expect to see me. ‘Cause one time you’ll turn around and I’ll be there. I’ll kill ya, Matt.

 

adam's_rib_(1949)

adam’s_rib_(1949) (Photo credit: newhousedesign)

Adam’s Rib (1949):

Licorice, mmmm. If there’s anything I’m a sucker for, it’s licorice.”

 

  Champion (1949)Champion (1949)

Champion (1949):

I suppose you know you have a wonderful body. I’d like to do it in clay.

 

Western ~ "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon"...

Western ~ “She Wore a Yellow Ribbon”, 1949 (Photo credit: e r j k p r u n c z y k)

She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (1949):

Don’t apologize – it’s a sign of weakness.”

 

screenshot of Virginia Mayo and James Cagney f...

screenshot of Virginia Mayo and James Cagney from the film White Heat (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

White Heat (1949):

Made it, Ma! Top of the world!”

 

Travers in his most memorable role, as Clarenc...

Travers in his most memorable role, as Clarence Odbody in It’s a Wonderful Life (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And sure that’s that for this week. This completes my look at quotations from films of the 1940s, but I’ll be back next week with a selection of films from the 1950s. And that’s a Wrap!!!

Posted by Michael ‘Charlie’ McGee

 

Leave a Reply

