A Quote on Thursday

Louis LumiereLouis Lumiere

Louis Lumiere:

The cinema is an invention without a future.”

 

Tom HanksTom Hanks (Castaway)

Tom Hanks (Regarding Castaway):

There was nothing to react to except wind and trees. It was like making a silent movie.

 

W. C. Fields with Mae WestW. C. Fields with Mae West

W. C. Fields:

The movie people would have nothing to do with me until they heard me speak in a Broadway play; then they all wanted to sign me for the silent movies.”

 

Walter MurchWalter Murch

Walter Murch:

When I’m actually assembling a scene, I assemble it as a silent movie. Even if it’s a dialog scene, I lip read what people are saying.”

 

George Sidney (MGM Director)George Sidney (MGM Director)

George Sidney:

I’ve had 79 to 80 years of show business. I started when I was 5 with a man called Tom Mix. I didn’t have time to go to school because I was in silent movies; I was in radio; I was in burlesque; I worked with the circus. I’m all show.”

 

John DoyleSilent Film Scene

John Doyle:

Imagine a silent movie studio.”

 

Slavoj ZizekSlavoj Zizek

Slavoj Zizek:

Cinema is the ultimate pervert art. It doesn’t give you what you desire – it tells you how to desire.”

 

Martin ScorseseMartin Scorsese

Martin Scorsese:

Cinema is a matter of what’s in the frame and what’s out.”

 

Werner HerzogWerner Herzog

Werner Herzog:

Read, read, read, read, read, read, read, read, read, read, read, read, read…if you don’t read, you will never be a filmmaker.”

 

Cecil B. DeMilleCecil B. DeMille

Cecil B. DeMille:

I might have remembered what my father once wrote to Henry George, “I never do anything by halves, and am half-hearted in no cause that I embrace.”

Posted by Michael ‘Charlie’ McGee

Leave a Reply

