A Quote on Thursday

Some more quotes for you this week from the world of, well, the world of anything. All quotes are connected in someway to cinema, and especially to silent film. There is also what has become a regular quote that is taken from the movies of Laurel and Hardy. So please enjoy:

BloodlinesNovel: Bloodlines

From the novel Bloodlines:

Do you know anything about silent films?”
Sure,” I said. “The first ones were developed in the late nineteenth century and sometimes had live musical accompaniment, though it wasn’t until the 1920s that sound became truly incorporated into films, eventually making silent ones obsolete in cinema.”

 

Laurel & Hardy in Their Big Mistake (1933) Laurel & Hardy in Their First Mistake (1933)

Laurel & Hardy from Their First Mistake (1933):

Stan (To Ollie): “Did you ask her about going out tonight?”

Ollie (To Stan): Nods his head

Stan (To Ollie): “What did she say?”

Ollie (To Stan): “You heard what she said.”

Stan (To Ollie): “Well what’s the matter with her anyway?”

Ollie (To Stan): “I don’t know. She says I think more of you than I do of her.”

Stan (To Ollie): “Well you do, don’t you?”

Ollie (To Stan): “We won’t go into that.”​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Bettie DavisBettie Davis

Bettie Davis:

I was thought to be ‘stuck up’. I wasn’t. I was just sure of myself. This is and always has been an unforgivable quality to the unsure.”

 

Pablo BergerPablo Berger

Pablo Berger:

Silent cinema can become like an hypnotic experience. I think you can get entranced. It’s almost like a voodoo experience. At least it has happened to me, and I really believe that some of film viewers, they have to give a chance to silent cinema because they have to be brave, because I have a feeling that some people that they say, ‘Oh, no silent film!’ If they taste it, I think it can become an addiction.”

 

Martin ScorseseMartin Scorsese

Martin Scorsese:

Cinema is a matter of what’s in the frame and what’s out
Barbara CartlandBarbara Cartland

Barbara Cartland:

We didn’t need sex. We had Tyrone Power.”
Posted by Michael ‘Charlie’ McGee

Leave a Reply

